× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Revitalizing ReadyNAS Pro 6

Sunfox1
Aspirant

Revitalizing ReadyNAS Pro 6

I’ve been running a ReadyNAS Pro 6 since early 2012, using an X-RAID2 array of 3TB hard drives that went from (I believe) 4 x 3TB now to 6 x 3TB.

I’ve had to replace a bunch of drives over the years, and the PSU a couple years back, but otherwise it’s still working fine, and even has its network interfaces trunked.

But, It’s no longer my primary NAS. That one I’m just finishing expanding from 8 x 8TB to 8 x 12TB, and as soon as the repair / expansion is finished, I plan on clearing off the old ReadyNAS and giving it some TLC.

I have a bunch of questions about this.

- I’m still running OS 4.2.31, which is so antiquated I need to use a virtual machine to even access the web interface. I know OS6 is “unofficially” supported, but are there any gotchas I should be aware of? Like, I remember there being an issue with the fans running at full speed after upgrading - was this ever addressed?

- Are there any size limits on the drives I can put into it?

- What’s the best RAID type to use on a new array? Don’t want to get stuck with the 8TB expansion limit that XRAID had.

- Assuming I’m just using it as a dumb file server, should I upgrade the RAM and CPU while I’m at it? It’s still just stock on both of those (actual -200 part number).
Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

Re: Revitalizing ReadyNAS Pro 6

@Sunfox1 wrote:

- I’m still running OS 4.2.31, which is so antiquated I need to use a virtual machine to even access the web interface. I know OS6 is “unofficially” supported, but are there any gotchas I should be aware of? Like, I remember there being an issue with the fans running at full speed after upgrading - was this ever addressed?

There is an add-on that will add TLS 1.2 support to 4.2.x systems (from @WhoCares_ ).