× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Sorry folks but... what is ReadyDR?

flattened
Apprentice

Sorry folks but... what is ReadyDR?

We'd love to have a solution where a NAS312 is on premises A and an identical NAS312 is at premises B and they are, if not exact clones of each other then at least within hours of each other so that if site A is wrecked we can at least continue using unit B.

I am quite new to these products, the standard FAQs don't really answer what I need to know and I've tied myself up in knots.

What would I need to do to achieve the above scenario? No need to go into the WAN/VPN comms aspect as I'm OK with this, it is simply the ReadyDR/Rsync/Replicate feature set that quite frankly baffles me as to what does what.

For example, off top of my head, would it be an A to B rsync backup of shares that has complimentary ReadyDR running to do the snapshots on these shares too?

Cheers

Andy.

Model: RN31222E|ReadyNAS 300 Series 2- Bay
Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: Sorry folks but... what is ReadyDR?

@flattened wrote:

I was going to use a 2TB share size. The nightly full backup is (to use an easy figure) 200GB (of which in reality only 1 GB or less of data actually changes) and I was advised that I'd be lucky to get a week's worth of snapshots.

Does this ring true?

If the full backup is a single file, then rsync would rewrite the entire file - taking a fair amount of time over the network, and also shifting the previous nightly backup file to the snapshot (adding 200 GB to the snapshot space).

If the backup is large set of files, then only the files that changed are rewritten, and there is much less increase in the snapshot size.  It'd be more than the 1 GB of changed data (since unchanged data in the changed files is also re-rewritten by rsync), but not the full 200 GB.

@flattened wrote: