× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

need help understanding RAID level x2

DS327
Aspirant

need help understanding RAID level x2

Using this ReadyNAS with two drives inside it in a Mac system.  It's exhibiting problems showing up on Raidar, etc.  It finally booted up and I get this warning on Raidar:

NETGEAR READYNAS RAID CONFIGURATION INFO.png

I need to understand if this means that one of the two drives is dead.  I don't know for sure if this was set up as RAID level 0 or 1.   Is that obvious from the error info on the Raidar page?  I can't interpret it and I'm not very technical, but I understand the basic concepts.  

At the moment with what I know, I'm thinking that if I power down the chassis (correctly of course) and remove the left side drive, the system will work for now with the one healthy drive.

But this is based on two assumptions I'm making.

1. This set up is configured as RAID level 1, meaning it's fully redundant and pulling a drive and rebooting is safe.

2. The error message is telling me that the left drive is not functioning (dead)  and the right drive is working and healthy (-ish)

Am I correct?  Is there a way to verify which Raid level this is running?  (since I have it up for now?)

Any help much appreciated.  Please explain steps and locations in plain language if possible. I really dont' hack.

Model: RNDP200U|READYNAS ULTRA 2 PLUS|EOL
Message 1 of 15
StephenB
Guru

Re: need help understanding RAID level x2

You already asked the RAID question on another thread.  XRAID with two disks uses RAID-1.  Disks are numbered left-to-right, so you are correct in thinking that the error is with the leftmost disk.