× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: MS510TXUP confused about VLAN for Guest Network

MS510TXUP confused about VLAN for Guest Network

I have 3 WAX630E AP's connected to this switch, which connects to my firewall appliance.  I am trying to setup a VLAN for guest network.  I have created VLAN 10 on my firewall.  The firewall is connected to Port 7, Ports 1-3 have the AP's and are trunked (marked) with the same VLAN ID (10).  Port 8 uplinks to another GS752TPv2 switch on port 48 (not marked, but is an uplink port on the main VLAN 1).  Port 48 is currently uplink on VLAN 1 only.  To simplify:

MS510TXUP - Dedicated 2.5G switch for AP's (directly connected to firewall appliance)

GS752TPv2 - 1G Switch for all wired connections

Everything seems to work, but the GS752TPv2 no longer connects to Insight.  I am very new at VLANS, so I'm not sure if this is setup correctly.  If not, what am I missing/doing wrong?

Message 1 of 11
schumaku
Guru

To shorten this question a little bit: It appears like some VLAN configs (access ports and/or tagged trunks) don't allow the GS752TP management VLAN to access the Internet, and so the Insight cloud. Carefully review the connection to the firewall or security appliance (could be untagged [much easier for the management]), where the MS510 TXUP is connected, and then the port and the link where the GS752TPv2 is connected. 

Strongly suggested: Keep the management VLAN untagged all over your infrastructure, and just define tagged trunks for the special VLANs and IP subnets where really required. Keep it as simple as possible! Start with a list writing everything down first.

Message 2 of 11