NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Forum Discussion
OxfordeBooks
Oct 13, 2026Aspirant
A complete mess after RAID failure...
Okay, I'm very confused and would really appreciate some help from the community here. This is going to be a long post I'm afraid but I thought it good to write as much detail as I can so that perha...
StephenB
Oct 13, 2026Guru - Experienced User
OxfordeBooks wrote:I now have a volume on NAS2 called ABC. To repopulate NAS2 I copied all my data via windows explorer from NAS1 to: \\NAS2\ABC
If I look on the SHARES area in the web interface for NAS2, I can only see the HOME FOLDERS and a WORK share - NO ABC folder.
You used the wrong process. Folders are not the same as shares. (Technically, shares are BTRFS subvolumes). The BTRFS volume (ABC in your case) is also not a share. You can only access it directly using NAS admin credentials. If you don't really know what you are doing, then you shouldn't be using those credentials for anything other then accessing the Web UI.
One puzzle here is where the WORK share came from. That is not created by default.
What you should now is delete all those folders in the root, and then re-create the shares via the admin web ui. The simplest apprach is do a factory reset from the web ui (system->settings->update; press "Perform Factory Default), and then start over. The NAS data volume would be called "Data" if you are using the default X-RAID (which is what I normally recommend).
There should also be a couple of shares created automatically - Documents, Music, Pictures, Home, Videos. Start by deleting the ones you don't use. (Note you CANNOT delete Home, so leave that one. If you don't use it, you can remove all file sharing protocols for it in the share settings - then it will not show up in File Explorer). FWIW, while the Home folders are useful for companies, I don't recommend them for home NAS users. Some operations are awkward, so if you don't need the access controls for the home folders, it is better to just use ordinary shares.
Then create the missing shares from the shares page in the web ui. If you use the Home folder(s), then you also need to re-create the NAS user account for each of those folders (same name as the folders). Then access the NAS with File Explorer using those account credentials using File Explorer - that is needed to properly recreate the Home folder(s) for you.
After that copy the data share-by-share from the PC (best not to use NAS admin credentials for this step). For the Home folder, you do want to use the appropriate account credential for the folder.
Once that is all in place, you can recreate any backup jobs you had running on the NAS.
OxfordeBooks wrote:I made a new backup job to send to a folder in the root of NAS1 called BACKUP
I set it up to run, and it appeared to do FULL backup to the new folder in the first run as expected, taking a couple of days.
It had created a folder called \\BACKUP\ABC and what looked like all the files were there.
It made a folder called \\BACKUP\ABC\WORK but that was EMPTY!
Something odd in your description, as the path should start with \\NAS1
Sandshark
Oct 13, 2026Sensei
If the shares and users of NAS1 are similar to what you had and want again on NAS2, do a configuration backup on NAS1 and restore it on NAS2. If you've done some things already, that may not work unless you factory default again before doing the configuration restore. It's a shame you didn't think to make a configuration backup of NAS2 when you backed up all the data, as that would have made things much easier.
Related Content
NETGEAR Academy
Boost your skills with the Netgear Academy - Get trained, certified and stay ahead with the latest Netgear technology!
Join Us!