NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Forum Discussion
PoweredByEhonda
Aug 11, 2015Aspirant
ReadyNAS 2100 OS reinstall - does shared permissions reset too?
So i inherited someones job from someone who went rogue and apparently he ended up changing the admin password on our ReadyNAS 2100. They have a permissions group setup where only leads have admin r...
- Aug 11, 2015
OS reinstall will
(a) set the network connection to use DHCP
(b) set the admin password back to the default ("netgear1" for a NAS running 4.x.x firmware)
It will not change permissions, or otherwise affect your data.
We normally recommend a backup first, just in case. But it is a pretty safe procedure.
StephenB
Aug 11, 2015Guru - Experienced User
OS reinstall will
(a) set the network connection to use DHCP
(b) set the admin password back to the default ("netgear1" for a NAS running 4.x.x firmware)
It will not change permissions, or otherwise affect your data.
We normally recommend a backup first, just in case. But it is a pretty safe procedure.
Related Content
NETGEAR Academy
Boost your skills with the Netgear Academy - Get trained, certified and stay ahead with the latest Netgear technology!
Join Us!