Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-01-24

Setting up a wireless repeater

Hi, I've been asked by a friend to help them set up a wireless extender/repeater in their home. Although I'm well versed in most things CAT5e, wireless repeating is not something I've done before.

They have two routers, a Netgear 54 Mbps Wireless ADSL Modem Router DG834GSP and a Netgear N150 Wireless Modem Router DGN1000.

I've read elsewhere that the DG834G can have extra wireless access points connected to it, ie. it has the WDS support, but I can't find anywhere that tells me the similar info for the DGN1000.

Am I right in thinking that I can use the DG834GSP as the master router and wirelessly link to the DGN1000 to extend the range?

Is this checklist correct?
Set both routers to the same wireless SSID
Set the DG834GSP to be the DHCP server and disable DHCP on the DGN1000
Set the DG834GSP DHCP to use 192.168.0.3 - 192.168.0.255
Assign 192.168.0.2 to the DGN1000
Enable WDS on the DG834GSP

Do I have to use MAC filtering throughout the network?

I think that's all I need to know, thanks in advance!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting up a wireless repeater

BOTH must have WDS so only one has WDS will NOT work

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/WDS/WDS_Concept.pdf


DG834GV5 is one do NOT have WDS...
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-01-24

Re: Setting up a wireless repeater

Thanks for the reply June. Just to clarify, are you saying that the DGN1000 does not have WDS and the DG834G does not have WDS?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting up a wireless repeater

If you login both router you will find out
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-01-24

Re: Setting up a wireless repeater

Yes I will. I was just hoping to find out before I call at my friend's house as it is a long way away and he may need to buy a new router first. It does not matter I will find out from another site.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: Setting up a wireless repeater

Hi Keef, I wonder if you can remember if this worked? Am faced with the same problem! Any help much appreciated.
Discussion Stats
  • 5 replies
  • 17769 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors