Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-06-10

WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

I have a Netgear WGR614v7 wireless router. I had previously been using it, without issue, as a wireless access point for the following devices:
-Windows XP laptop with Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Net wireless card
-Nintendo Wii
The Windows XP computer connected without issue for the most part. Every so often (about once a month) the computer needed to be rebooted to re-establish a connection. The Wii was set up once and never had any problems connecting.

I recently purchased a new laptop with Windows 7, and formatted/re-installed Windows XP on the older laptop. I did not change any of the settings on the router. So now the configuration of devices connected to the router is:
-Windows 7 laptop with Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6230 wireless card
-Windows XP laptop with Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Net wireless card
-Nintendo Wii

Now comes the problem. Approximately half of the time, the laptop computers can not connect to the router. Re-booting the computers does not seem to help; however, resetting the router does successfully re-establish the connection. I thought the problem might be related to the hibernation function of the computers, so I next went into the wireless card Power Management properties and unchecked 'Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power'. I thought this would retain an active link between computer & router even in hibernate mode. To my surprise, this change has had no effect. The Nintendo Wii is also undergoing connection problems now, which are also solved by resetting the router.

I am now resetting the router once or twice per day and have become frustrated. I am open to buying a new router, but as an engineer my gut feeling is that this won't solve the problem (since I have yet to identify what the problem is). I haven't posted any of the router settings here because I wasn't sure which would be relevant, but I would be happy to write back with further details.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

if you are using intel wireless utility, make sure you check the power management of the intel utility and not the O/S settings Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-06-10

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

That is correct ... changed the setting of the wireless adapter via Wireless Adapter Settings -> Configure -> Power Management Tab.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

if you are using intel wireless utility, make sure you check the power management of the intel utility and not the O/S settings


you are not using intel utility?
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-06-10

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

same problem with the same router (with V2.0.30_2.0.30NA firmware) and Intel Gigabit adapter: connecting and reconnecting to all WiFi devices requires frequent router resetting. All Power Management settings for the adapter are unchecked. Problem seems to be related to DHCP failure when attempting or re-establishing WiFi connections.
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-06-10

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

jmizoguchi: I don't know what Intel wireless utility you are referring to. I am changing the adapter settings of the Intel hardware.

edcoan: I, too, have the upgraded firmware. I didn't mention it because it didn't seem to have any effect.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

intel has intel wireless utility program
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-06-13

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

I also have this problem with the same router. Every two days I unplug the router, plug it back in, and it works for another two days. It still works fine with an ethernet cable, just not wireless. Other laptops also can't connect until the router is rebooted.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-06-18

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

hey jmizoguchi, instead of being a dumbass and just keep saying intel wireless utility. why dont you tell us what to do.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

hey jmizoguchi, instead of being a dumbass and just keep saying intel wireless utility. why dont you tell us what to do.

you are wasting my time with your attitude. go somewhere else ... we only deal with good behavior poster.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2007-05-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Back to the original problem, I too have a WGR614. We've eliminated the Intel utility option because as the OP noted ALL devices fail to connect to the router pending a reset. In my case the router requires a full reset at least four times daily. PC's, ipads, and game consoles all fail to connect once it goes down (this is why I say the Intel utility is not the culprit). This applies to wired and wireless devices alike. Typically not all these devices are active (very rare), but it seems the router isn't handling the DHCP side well and is losing track. Does anyone know the maximum device count that can hit the router? I've reserved IP's for each device to avoid conflicts, but to no avail. The router simply won't stay live, and the frequency seems to be increasing. I'm willing to move to a wireless router that's intended to support up to 10 devices, but without a clear cause to the current issue I am not going to just move to another model to recreate the issues. Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-06-10

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

sddjd, I feel your pain. I only have 3 devices that I use regularly, and I have tried reserving IPs for them with no luck.

I have noticed some strange behavior, maybe this will mean something to somebody here. Often times after the computers have been inactive, one will be able to reconnect and the other will not. I then take the working computer and log in to the router. I go to "Basic Settings" and then click the "Test" button. The connection is temporarily lost, and when it comes back all the devices are working. In other words, this seems to have the same effect as pressing the reset button on the router.

The failure after inactivity seems to be due to a lack of IP address assignment. So I'm thinking this has something to do with the DHCP functionality of the router, as sddjd said. The "test" command probably is refreshing everything and re-assigning IPs to my devices.

Still debating a new wireless router, and still hesitant because I don't really understand the problem...
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-07-01

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

guitarmandf wrote:
I also have this problem with the same router. Every two days I unplug the router, plug it back in, and it works for another two days. It still works fine with an ethernet cable, just not wireless. Other laptops also can't connect until the router is rebooted.



Has anyone found an answer for this situatuon?:confused:
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-06-10

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Sure did find a solution - bought a new router! Now devices can connect & reconnect with the no issue - the one caveat being that my Windows 7 computer takes longer to reconnect post-hibernation (~45sec) than all of my other devices.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-08-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

I'm having the same problem...atho I never actually reset my router, it just drops and comes back a minute later. The signal strength is low on my laptop and iphone but my netflix connection on my wifi dvd seems to stay connected through a movie.

The problem started after I updated my desktop to Windows 7. I had to disable the wifi completely from this pc to connect the dvd. I've been unable to resolve the laptop and iphone wifi though.

I've upgraded the router's firmware and have set the windows 7 power setting to most performance. I don't want to reinstall the old OS, but I'm afraid Windows 7 is causing this issue!

HELP, I can't find anything specific to this issue.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

If you flash firmware then you must hard reset the router.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-09-03

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Has there been any progress in finding a solution to this problem? I'm suffering the same effects as other posters regarding the wireless drop.
A solution I've found is when I access the routers web-page through my Ethernet connection and clik on "wireless settings" it will flash the router and auto-reset the connection without hitting "test" or "apply settings"
If that doesn't work i'll have to hit "apply setttings" for the connection to reconnect over wi-fi.

I've gone so far as to reset the router all the way back to factory settings with no luck.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Hspz wrote:
Has there been any progress in finding a solution to this problem? I'm suffering the same effects as other posters regarding the wireless drop.
A solution I've found is when I access the routers web-page through my Ethernet connection and clik on "wireless settings" it will flash the router and auto-reset the connection without hitting "test" or "apply settings"
If that doesn't work i'll have to hit "apply setttings" for the connection to reconnect over wi-fi.

I've gone so far as to reset the router all the way back to factory settings with no luck.


reflash the firmware with latest or prior firmware and follow with hard reset.

also use this tool
http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/

check any channel interference issues could cause some behavior

1,6,11 of three choices you have to best options
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-09-05

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Hi, I have the same problem, The router needs reseting to get the wireless to work again.
Have anyone found a solution to the problem?
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-11-07

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Mine does the same thing. I have replaced the router and gone through all the settings myself and with my service provider. I have multiple laptops, a desktop, ipads,iphones, and a ps3. The netgear router needs to be reset for the first connection of the day and when new devices want to connect during the day. It seems that although there are 50 ip addresses available there is invariably a ip conflict which causes the router to need to be reset prior to connecting. Even if a device is connected all day and you disconnect and reconnect you have to reset the router. This is a pain. I have seen no fixes for it and don't tell me its the devices as they all work elsewhere flawlessly. I am read to ditch the Netgear, if I know it would fix the problem.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-11-20

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

Having same problem and just read under another forum today:

Advanced->UPnP
uncheck the box 'Turn UPnP On'
Apply

I need to monitor a couple days to validate it's the solution, but give it a try.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-11-07

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

my service provider road runner came out and replaced my router and modem with an all in one solution. no reset problems since. get rid of the WGR614v7
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-11-07

Re: WGR614v7 needs constant resetting

I have never been on a forum such as this where there are no answers to your problem and no experts in sight. I got rid of the WGR614v7 and all my reset problems were solved. The WGR614v7 seemed to hang on to an ip address and then report a conflict even though there were 50 addresses available. I suspect that this outdated technology just gets confused when there are multiple devices present.
Discussion Stats
  • 22 replies
  • 13754 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 12 in conversation
Top Contributors