Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-03-28

WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

Hello,

I recently purchased a WNDR3700v3 router. Since I have had it, nothing has been able to stay connected for more than 5 minutes at a time. This makes it extremely difficult to play online games or watch Netflix.

I set it up with the included CD and hadn't changed any other settings when it first started. I've tried changing the channel and resetting it completely since then. Usually it's difficult to change anything else because the 'WPS in progress' message pops up.

I've tried searching for others with the same issue but haven't had much luck. Is something set up incorrectly?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

Broadband type
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-03-28

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

Thank you for responding so quickly.

Where can I set this? I have cable internet - the netgear help says to run the setup wizard, but that hasn't helped so far.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

make sure cable modem is standard modem and not modem/router unit
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-03-28

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

It says it's just a modem (Motorola SB5102).

Is there something else that would be causing it?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

should work fine..

test with pc wired the router and test if you have disconnection every 5min. if wired to the pc is does not show same behavior then would be isolated wireless issueless only
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-03-28

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

I tried it with the cord directly from the modem, but there was no disconnecting
Aspirant
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎2012-04-01

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

How recently did you buy it? You may just want to return it.

I've been having issues and decided to check the Netgear boards and lo and behold several people are having the same connection dropout issue. A family member just bought a new one (I have a V1) and they're having connection dropout issues.

If the internet works fine directly plugged into the cable modem and it drops out (wired) with the WNDR3700, then that likely points to an issue with the router. Hardware, firmware, who knows.
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-03-28

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

I bought it back in January, so I think it might be too late to take it back. For some reason, the connection dropping doesn't seem to show up on my laptop unless I'm playing a game or watching a movie (on other devices, I can see the wireless icon change to 'no connection'), so I didn't notice it until I got my desktop set up. I guess if there's nothing wrong in the settings, I can try calling Netgear to see if they have any suggestions.
Aspirant
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎2012-04-01

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

I don't have a later revision, but I would search this forum and see if people recommend an older firmware for your version and see if that helps.

Then use the steps in this sticky to test it out (step three is a good idea, but basically step four, after you can pin down a recommended older firmware): http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Tutor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎2011-05-11

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

there is no resolution to problems with this router series [wndr3700 family]. call netgear support and get replacement
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-12-28

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

Hello,

I'm also facing same problem and my router configured with Static IP's so can I unable to do changes in Idle timeout settings.can you please help on it.



jmizoguchi wrote:
should work fine..

test with pc wired the router and test if you have disconnection every 5min. if wired to the pc is does not show same behavior then would be isolated wireless issueless only
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

can not change idle time out on static ip
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-11-11

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

I just recently purchased the wndr3800 and seem to be experiencing the same wifi drop out issue. Its not every 5 minutes, but it is often. The funny thing is that when i wake up my smartphone, which is connected to wifi, it seems to wake up the wifi devices that had previoously lost the connection. That includes a wifi printer and a laptop.
Wierd. Any ideas about this?
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-03-09

Re: WNDR3700v3 - losing connection every 5 minutes

Hi Try disabling the WMM feature. It solve the same issue for me.

Advanced -> Setup -> QoS Setup -> (Un-check the WMM Check box).

WMM is a power saving / QoS feature that seems to have vendor to vendor standard deviations. My experience has been that unless you use the same wireless vendor for all WMM enabled devices it will become intermittent and cause the computer or device to disconnect and reconnect as described in this forum.

Chances are you don't need the QoS any way as your internet connection is fast enough to get the streaming content to you with the non streaming.

Hope this helps!

Will
Discussion Stats
  • 14 replies
  • 8053 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 7 in conversation
Top Contributors