Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Hey everyone, Novice here with a question that will probably make most of you sigh . I have a C6300

Dave4696
Aspirant

Hey everyone, Novice here with a question that will probably make most of you sigh . I have a C6300

Hello All. As I said , Novice here with a question that will make most groan I am sure. But hey, This isn’t what I do. So I have this C6300 wifi router combo unit with also has the designation AC1750.  I’ve been using this unit for a couple years now and it has worked. I live in a small place, Im not a gamer but I do stream everything.  I also ended up with a newer Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 smart wifi router Model R7000.   It looks to me like the C6300 unit has the cable modem that the AC1900 does not have.

My question is - Can I use both of these units together to maybe get a better connection and speed ?  And if so how do I do that?  
As usual I appreciate the help.

Thanks and have a great day!

DW

Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions

Re: Hey everyone, Novice here with a question that will probably make most of you sigh . I have a C6

@Dave4696 wrote:

I also ended up with a newer Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 smart wifi router Model R7000.   It looks to me like the C6300 unit has the cable modem that the AC1900 does not have.

You are trying to add a router to a modem-router. Not good.

Two routers on your network can cause headaches. For example, you can end up with local address problems. Among other things, the other router can misdirect addresses that the Netgear router usually handles, such as routerlogin.net or the usual IP address for a router, 192.168.1.1.

This explains some of the other drawbacks.

What is Double NAT? | Answer | NETGEAR Support

Unless you have specific reasons for using two routers – to create two separate networks for example – it is often easier to use just one router and then to set up the second router as a wifi access point. Netgear advises this, as does just about every site you will visit.