× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to download torrent files onto the RN10400

denaus50
Aspirant

How to download torrent files onto the RN10400

I am totally new to NAS. I am used to downloading video direct to my pc and extedened HD. But I really need help in how to download directly onto my RN10400. It houses 2. 4gb WD Reds.

I can't seem to get my head around how to do this and would appreciate any assistance greatly.

Model: RN10400|ReadyNAS 100 Series 4- Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 10
StephenB
Guru

Re: How to download torrent files onto the RN10400

Not quite sure I understand what you are wanting to do.

Are you wanting to copy the videos to the NAS after the torrent completes?  Or something else?

Message 2 of 10
JennC
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hello denaus50,

Are you trying to get movies downloaded and stored to the NAS from via torrent client? ReadyNAS has some torrent client apps such Qbittorrent and Utorrent that you can use to download movies.

Welcome to the community!

Regards,

Message 3 of 10
denaus50
Aspirant

Hi StephenB

Thanks for your response. What I'm used to doing is downloading movies using Utorrent onto my pc and streaming them onto my TV. I thought this would be straightforward with the RN10400 but I am at a loss as to how this can happen. I got the RN110400 thinking I could point to the Netgear directory and have an immediate download saved there and stream. 

Much more complicated than I thought.

Thanks so much for getting back to me!

DenAus50

Message 4 of 10
StephenB
Guru

One option (suggested already by JennC) is to run utorrent or tranmission on the NAS itself.