× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Feature "Enable VPN Service" vs Netgear Armour vs Bitdefender VPN

millewg001
Aspirant

Feature "Enable VPN Service" vs Netgear Armour vs Bitdefender VPN

OK, I admit that I am new to Netgear Products and an amateur when it comes to VPN.  As such, I rely on documentation (vendor or otherwise) to learn about features and capabilities.  I am having a great deal of difficulty in understanding a feature called "VPN Service" on my newly acquired RAX120.  Can someone either explain or direct me to an explanation of this feature and what it does.  I am under the impression when enabled, it provides me a level of VPN protection for my home network of 40+ devices but I am not sure now, hence my question.

I have enabled OpenVPN on my mobile devices and assume I can connect to my home network, remotely through this VPN. 

I suspect my OpenVPN link will not provide VPN protection when I am connected to a public network, again, I am not sure of what VPN capabilities Netgear provides through this feature.

I also have Netgear Armour installed and activated on my router.  This product sounds like it will provide me protection on my network but is it as secure as a VPN (ie encryption, etc).  Where can I read more about this product and what it does?

I also have Bitdefender installed on my mobile devices and it seeps to provide VPN services similar to OpenVPN and may not need Open VPN any longer.  

So, where can I go to read about these products, their capabilities, and how they function..

Model: RAX120|Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream WiFi Router
Message 1 of 4
Topology
Virtuoso

Re: Feature "Enable VPN Service" vs Netgear Armour vs Bitdefender VPN

millewg001, a few (hopefully helpful) resources concerning VPN on a router….

Best VPNs for Netgear Routers

How to Remotely Connect Safely and Securely

How to Set Up VPN on a DD-WRT Router