Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ORBI Loses Internet Connection and CANNOT RENEW WAN IP RBR50/RBS50 2.3.5.30

ElMotor
Guide

I am a network engineer.  This is a piece of junk firmware.  Netgear can you get your SH!T together!!!!!

Repeatedly cannot renew WAN IP after ISP renews connection!

Must Power off then on Parent Orbi to get IP to renew.  This is USELESS!  HIGHLY ADVISE ANYONE CONSIDERING ORBI TO BUY ANOTHER BRAND!!!!

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 31
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: ORBI Loses Internet Connection and CANNOT RENEW WAN IP RBR50/RBS50 2.3.5.30

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too? Built in router with the modem here or just a modem only?

Something I haven't seen with my RBK50 nor RBK852. However, I have a CM1100 and C7800 tested with both systems. 

Message 2 of 31
ElMotor
Guide

ISP: Comcast Xfinity

Original Modem/Router (Bridged Mode) (Same issues occurred):  XFi Advanced Gateway. 

https://www.xfinity.com/learn/internet-service/modems-and-routers 

Current Modem (Bridged Mode) (Same issue is occuring):  Netgear CM1200

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/networking/cable-modems-routers/CM1200.aspx

Message 3 of 31
scsp85
Tutor

I having the same issues with Spectrum.

I’m using the RBR50, and most of the time the Orbi loses connection to the CM1200, and I’ll need to reset both. This happens 10-20 times a day, but Orbi’s logs say it’s still “up”.

And yes, I’ve tried the factory reset, the channels, all the stuff they recommend immediately in this forum. I have the 2.5.0.40 firmware on the Orbi and all satellites.
Model: CM1200|Nighthawk Multi-Gig Speed Cable Modem, RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 4 of 31
ElMotor
Guide

We are replacing all equipment with Ubiquiti UniFi Dream Machine and BeaconHD’s. Just tested for 10 days and it’s been solid.