Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Poor stability, frequent disconnects

Kuikenj
Aspirant

Poor stability, frequent disconnects

Hello, 

I purchased an Orbi RBK53 with two sattelites from Costco. I moved into my new place, installed my cable ISP (spectrum) and have had frequent disconnects and interupptions in my Wifi capability from the Orbi. It disconnects about 1-2x per hour!

I work from home, and I'm not a tech expert, but the cable isn't having an issue while the Orbi disconnects. I expect to be able to take this thing out of the box, plug it in and have it work. I fired the unit up on 7/26, so it should have the latest firm ware.

If this can't be fixed quickly, its going to go back to Costco and I will find a router that is stable! Help!

Model: RBK53|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi System
Message 1 of 22
plemans
Guru

Re: Poor stability, frequent disconnects

What firmware are you on?

How large is your home?

How far apart are the orbi devices? They need 30ft minimum in between them.

Is it all devices loosing wifi? Or is it specific devices?  

Have you tried changing wireless channels? 

When you loose connection, are you having to manually reconnection or what process do you use to fix the problem?

Message 2 of 22
FURRYe38
Guru

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too?

What channels are you using? Auto? Try setting manual channel 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz and any unused channel on 5Ghz.

Any Wifi Neighbors near by? If so, how many?

Try enabling Beamforming and MIMO(MIMO may or maynot be needed) and WMM. Under Advanced Tab/Advanced Settings/Wireless Settings

Try disabling the following and see:
Armor, Circle, Daisy Chain, Fast Roaming, IPv6 and Set 20/40Mhz Coexistence to 40Mhz only. Save settings and reboot the router and satellite(s).

@Kuikenj wrote:

Hello,