Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBK50 Technical Information / DFS Channel Support

xPhilx
Aspirant

RBK50 Technical Information / DFS Channel Support

Greetings Everyone,

I am a network engineer that currently has Ubiquiti systems at home as I do like to perform more advanced changed on my network. I have been planning to invest on a robust Mesh Wifi System, and the netgear - spec-wise - seems to meet most of my concerns the RBK50 running latest OS : Tri Band support, an while a later large MAP bridging to the RAP, it does provide gains on the reception.

I tried to find some screenshots of the OS running Netgear, I have a few questions about what is support / able to be done with the app or web interface, would someone be able to answer:

- Can you select the Backhaul channel or is it automatic? Does it allow Channel Bonding? 

- Does this support 802.11ac Wave 2 (Up to 160Mhz) ? 

- Does it support setting manual DFS channels for SSIDs? How About Backhaul? 

- What is the number of spatial streams in here? 2x2? 3x3? How about the backhaul network?

I know most people don't use DFS because they are oh so afraid of the satellites coming by, I live miles and miles away from any radar or any system that could interfere with DFS, so it's not a concern for me at all. In fact I have used it for the past 2 years without a single issue. I live in a condo are where many people love to channel bond to 80mhz, so there is an inferno of co-channel interference on the 5Ghz but DFS range is clean as a whistle, my main goal would be to :

- Channel Bond the Backhaul network using Channel 52 and up (hopefuly to 160Mhz, if not 80Mhz)

- Channel Bond my 5Ghz WLAN using channel 116 and up (DFS Range) 

Netgear, please make better technical information 🙂 

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 6
thombe
Apprentice