× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How stacking works is 2 stacked switches?

MotivIT
Aspirant

How stacking works is 2 stacked switches?

Hi Experts,

I'm new to stacking and I would like to know how it will work with 2 switches.  I know that when these 2 switches were stacked, they basically become a single switch.  Now my question is, how High Availability is achieved by this?  For example, Switch 1 has 40 devices connected to the ethernet ports.   Then 35 devices connected to the ethernet ports of Switch 2.  When one of them goes down, how the remaining Switch can cater all the devices connected to the Switch that goes down?  Can someone shed me some light of concept and what will happen in this scenario?

Thanks in advanced!
Arnel

Model: GS748TS|ProSAFE Gigabit Stackable Smart Switch|EOL
Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
Hopchen
Prodigy

Re: How stacking works is 2 stacked switches?

Hi,

If device A is connected to switch A, and switch A dies - well then device A will loose access to the network.
If device A is connected to switch A, and cable between them fails then device A will loose access to the network.

There is nothing you can do to prevent this and that is OK because high availability is not about end devices. It is about creating a resilient network to allow important devices to have high availability. Devices such as: servers, storage devices, switches, routers, etc.

A common way to create this high availability is through a combination of stacking and LAG (bonding). For example: I have a stack of two switches. I connect a server to the stack. The connection a done via a LAG of two cables, so that:
- One cable is going from the server to switch 1 in the stack.
- The other cable is going from the server to switch 2 in the stack.