× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Where to from ReadyNAS Suirvellance?

Brannor
Guide

Where to from ReadyNAS Suirvellance?

So I've been running an RN104 with ReadyNAS Suirveillance for quite a few years, and it's been hit and miss over time.  I bought extra licenses, had issues unlocking the licenses when the NAS software update failed.... and the software isn't compatible with modern browser versions half the time - some features aren't accessible anymore.

So... where to from here?  Is there better (any?) suirveillance software to run on a ReadyNAS?  Or should I just relegate my ReadyNAS to being a backup device and move to another 'eco system'.  Suggestions?

Message 1 of 5
StephenB
Guru

Re: Where to from ReadyNAS Suirvellance?

They moved on from Surveillance to Milestone Arcus, and then abandoned that too.

So I'd suggest moving on to something PC-based, and saving the videos on the NAS.

Message 2 of 5
Sandshark
Sensei

I use Blue Iris on a PC and have the NAS set up as the archival device.  I used to run it on a pretty basic older PC, though I recently installed an equipment rack so i could move to rack mounted NAS  and moved Blue Iris to a more powerful rack-mount PC.  By using the NAS as an archival device, you can limit the amount of drive space you need on the PC.  I would not recommend using the NAS (via a share or iSCSI) as primary storage,.

Message 3 of 5
aks-2
Apprentice