× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Veem with ReadyNAS 4220

joblackk
Aspirant

Veem with ReadyNAS 4220

I am about to change our backup storation solution for our virtualized environmnet.  I have a few options but one that seems more suited for us is to marry the veem backup with a ReadyNAS 4220.  I have about 11 VMs that i need backed up totaling about 8T of space.   I am was hoping i could get some information on this particula setup related to performance and setup.  If anyone has experience with this setup, i would greatly appreciate any info.

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 7
joblackk
Aspirant

Re: Veem with ReadyNAS 4220

Shocked that no one has done this and can shed some light on this subject. 

Message 2 of 7
kohdee
NETGEAR Expert

Hi. I have lots of experience running Veeam against ReadyNAS OS 6.

My recommendation is create a thick iSCSI LUN no larger than 80% of the total volume space. Turn off bit rot protection, turn off snapshots, turn off sync writes. Mount the iSCSI LUN to your machine running Veeam.

Only use the NAS for Veeam and not other backups. 

Schedule volume maintenance: defrag for Saturday mornings and balance for Sunday mornings to keep the file system healthy. Make sure these run when the unit is not doing backups.

Message 3 of 7
joblackk
Aspirant