× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNas NV+ v2 stuck on boot menu (RND4000-200AJS)

mickrad
Aspirant

ReadyNas NV+ v2 stuck on boot menu (RND4000-200AJS)

I've been using my NAS for 3 years now and it's been great. Rarely an issue and only had to reboot a few times (when drive got full)

Today, however, it has decided to die.

When I went to use it, the screen on the front of the NAS was blank and I could not power down, so I pulled the plug and pushed it back in.

On start-up, the screen went straight to the 'Boot Menu' and stayed that way.

I have tried to hold down the reset button and scroll through the options, but it will not move from 'Normal' and I cannot even make it boot up at all. It appears to be stuck on Boot menu.

I have tried removing drives (I have 4x WD. 2x 3TB, 1x 1.5TB and 1 2TB) but to no avail.

Having searched high and low for answers, I am desperate now.

Can I either, reset the firmware to allow me to boot again, or if the box is truly bricked, how do I recover my data?

Thanks,

Mick

Model: ReadyNASRND4000v2|ReadyNAS NV+ v2 Chassis only
Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNas NV+ v2 stuck on boot menu (RND4000-200AJS)

Does RAIDar give you an additional status information when you are stuck on the boot menu?

Just wanting to confirm - the disk is blank, not formatted?  You can unformat at drive with windows disk manager, or by zeroing it with vendor diags (seatools or WD Lifeguard).  If there is a "quick zero" option available, that will also unformat the drive.

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 9

All Replies
StephenB
Guru

If you have a scratch disk, you could try removing all the existing disks (labelling by slot) and install the scratch - all with the NAS powered down. Then power up and see if the system will boot/do a factory install.

Message 2 of 9
mickrad
Aspirant

Thanks for your reply, Stephen.