× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

I switched my r6700v2 as an access point but I still see the primary router's wireless signal?

STINKEYE
Aspirant

I switched my r6700v2 as an access point but I still see the primary router's wireless signal?

Disclaimer: I'm a total noob at this so please don't judge.

Hello,

I just had cable installed on my house and the cable company provided me with a modem and router. I have a 2 story home and the modem/router was installed in the garage and I put my R6700v2 in the loft upstairs. 

I have switched the R6700v2 to an access point from the netgear site but I still see the signal from the primary router. Shouldn't I see my netgear wireless signal only and not the one coming from the Spectrum router? Is my R6700v2 working as an extender/repeater?

Do I need to do something to the spectrum router?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Model: R6700|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 7
plemans
Guru

Re: I switched my r6700v2 as an access point but I still see the primary router's wireless signal?

If you switched your R6700v2 to AP mode, all you've done is disabled some features of the router.

https://kb.netgear.com/26765/Disabled-Features-on-the-Router-when-set-to-AP-Mode

it didn't do a thing to the spectrum device other than avoid a double nat situation.

https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT

You've got a couple options. If you like having the added coverage for your wireless, just log into each device and setup their own ssid and place their wireless radios on different channels. this limits interference and keeps them functioning well.

if you've got plenty of coverage with just the R6700, you can always disable the wifi on the spectrum device. 

Or if you want to get more complicated, you can place the spectrum router/modem in modem only mode, and turn routing mode back on the R6700. 

Message 2 of 7