Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Intermittent Packet Loss

tb2780
Aspirant

Intermittent Packet Loss

Hi,

I've been using by CM1200 modem for ~2 years without issues until a couple weeks ago where I started seeing some really bad packet loss that will happen intermittently. Some of the side effects of these events are broken voice calls (I can hear others, but my mic will cut out) and huge lag spikes during gaming. I was able to verify these are happening on the first hop outside of my internal network using WinMTR (don't have those results actively available but can try to reproduce them if necessary). I'm suspecting either a faulty modem or degraded connection from my ISP. Before taking any further action (replacing modem or paying Comcast to come out) I was hoping someone might be able to provide guidance from my modem's power logs.

modem1.PNG
modem2.PNG

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Tony

Model: CM1200|Nighthawk Multi-Gig Speed Cable Modem
Message 1 of 5
FURRYe38
Guru

Is there a wifi router system in between the CM modem and your devcies or is this happening with a wired PC connected to the back of the CM modem? What is the brand and model of the host wifi router connected to the modem?
Please post a copy and paste of the modems connection status page.
Have the ISP check the signal and line quality UP to the modem. Be sure the ISP provisions the modem correctly.
Be sure there are no coax cable line splitters in the between the modem and ISP service box. 
Be sure your using good quality RG6 coax cable up to the modem. 
Be sure to power OFF the modem for 1 minute then back ON.
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Cable-Modems-Routers/General-info-and-Troubleshooting-for-Cable-Mod...

Message 2 of 5
tb2780
Aspirant

Thanks for you response!