× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Nighthawk M6 Pro Unlocked Hotspot 5G mmWave

Re: Frustrated with firmware update for MR1100

iamhondo
Aspirant

Frustrated with firmware update for MR1100

I've been using my MR1100 for several years. Lately I've had overheating problems -- frustration #1. I found the "latest" firmware -- 12.07.08.00. That seemed good.

I was surprised I didn't see that earlier so I checked my router's current version. It says 12.05.05. It says "Current software is up to date". Apparently not -- frustration #2.

I looked for the instructions to force an update of the firmware. But my "FIRMWARE UPDATE" page doesn't have an option to upload firmware through the web ui -- frustration #3.

I did notice my web ui has ATT instead of Netgear. Does that shut me out of the update? Is the update even applicable to my MR1100? Is there a separate ATT source for my updates? (And why aren't they automatically detected?)

Thanks,

Joe

Model: MR1100|Nighthawk M1 Mobile Router
Message 1 of 7
Blanca_O
NETGEAR Moderator

Hi @iamhondo

Welcome to NETGEAR Community!

May I please know the device SKU (MR1100-xxx)? 

Regards,
Blanca
Community Team

Message 2 of 7
nomad247
Tutor

I have a issue with updating as well. I cannot upfate manually because the borwse to file is not an option, simoply not there. I have a MR-1100-1A1NAS, not purchased through ATT.  It just updated the other night, newer fvcirware, but not the current. I solved the over-heat problem by using the router WITHOUT the battery. I have two batteries, and one is unopened, yet, the other I charge it up like once since I got this router. I really like the router so am hoping to find a way to manually update the firmware.

Message 3 of 7
nomad247
Tutor