Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: BT compatibility with Nighthawk modem router D7000

WhitsHisFace
Aspirant

BT compatibility with Nighthawk modem router D7000

Hi all, looking for some help.

Been on Google for the best part of 4 hours, at PC World and on the phone to Sky and BT.

Short story is I've been shafted by Sky. So cancelled and now have the 14 day wait for BT broadband.

Is my new purchase of the NETGEAR Nighthawk D7000 going to be compatible straight from the phone socket via DSL filter?

Sky said they flat outright don't support 3rd party devices. So wouldn't give me the IP username or password. However BT say they do. So will my nighthawk modem router work as soon as the signal switches from Sky to BT?

Please help a total noob. I want to know if I should return my Nighthawk if it won't work and just use the standard BT hub?

Kindest reagrds

New Nighthawk owner
Message 1 of 25

Accepted Solutions
ricke17
Apprentice

In short, Yes.

Just make sure that you run the internet set up thing again via the netgear log in, and you will be good to go.

Rick.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 25

All Replies
ricke17
Apprentice

In short, Yes.

Just make sure that you run the internet set up thing again via the netgear log in, and you will be good to go.

Rick.

Message 2 of 25
WhitsHisFace
Aspirant

Thank you very much Rick. Huge weight of my shoulders. As soon as BT switch me over from Sky I'll hook it up and do all the log in genie stuff.

Thanks again 🙂
Message 3 of 25
ricke17
Apprentice

You might have to re-do the internet set up again:

Default log in is admin and password

Go to Advanced and then Set Up Wizard.

The rest is self explanatry - just ensure you connect direct to he router with an ethernet cable.

There was quite a complicated way to get the Sky details - but I don't know how to do that, just reading on other forums.

Good luck and let me know how you get on.

Did you take up the IPTV channels with BT?

Rick.

Message 4 of 25
clithes
Prodigy