× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

AUTO-VOIP VLAN or manual, need help with initial config. two Networks in use as well

MMC_TechGuy
Aspirant

AUTO-VOIP VLAN or manual, need help with initial config. two Networks in use as well

I will admit up front that I'm a bit new to VLAN and some of the terminology. I understand what they do, and basically how they work, but not things like LAG.

My scenario is my ISP is handing me two internet "feeds" on different networks, one for data, one for phones. The plan is to take the data feed and push it through my firewall (TZ400) and the phone feed through the ISP router and what comes out are two NAT networks. Let's call them network 1D and network 2P.

My plan is to put 1D into port 49 (non POE port) and 2P into port 50.

the plan is also to have ONE network drop per office, with the network cable first going to the VOIP phone, and then from the phone, on to the computer.

I don't see, or have any need for the computers to be segregated so I was expecting to put them on the "default" VLAN and have them using the untagged VLAN. (the 1D network)

The phones, on the other hand, I was thinking of putting on either the "Auto-VOIP" VLAN (2) or set this VLAN statically. The phones will then be configured to use VLAN 2.

Computers, untagged, using network 1D would get their DHCP from my firewall on port 49, while the phones, in VLAN 2, using network 2P, would get their DHCP from the ISP router, connected to port 50.

So, here is where I need help. I'm not sure how to configure the normal, POE ports for this VLAN 2 (network 2P). I know I need to tag packets entering port 50 with VLAN 2 tags, but then do I need to do anything for each of the POE ports? I don't want those ports removing any tags.