× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
× Introducing the new Orbi 770 Series Mesh System. To learn more click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RS280 Laptop doesn’t recognize WiFi

Gryzing71
Tutor

RS280 Laptop doesn’t recognize WiFi

Full disclosure I’m a novice in this realm, so take it easy on me. I have a Lenovo work laptop and it will not recognize this router as being a WiFi connection. I get error code 10 when I go to device manager and navigate to the WiFi setting. This means not only will the laptop not recognize this router but it shuts off the ability to connect WiFi altogether. I’m not an admin on the PC since it’s work issued, so I have limited capabilities. In contrast, my decade old r7000 connects no problem, which is frustrating. I’m hoping to get some help here or I’ll inevitably have to return this item to Costco. Thanks in advance.
Message 1 of 9
schumaku
Guru

Whatever the "old" 7000 was configured, this looks like a problem with your work-supplied notebook, specifically outdated drivers, and possibly a dual-band Wi-Fi adapter only.

Because of the RS280 is a tri-band Wi-Fi, offering 2.4, 5, and 6 GHz, with 6 GHz mandatory WPA3-SAE security (or the WPA2-PSK/WPA3-SAE mixed mode), either the adapter or a least the drivers can't cope with. 

Contact your business IT support for an update or upgrade.

Temporary workaround  Disable Smart Connect, nd set the Security Options to WPA2-Personal (==WPA2-PSK). When Smart Connect is disabled, this is the default setting for the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz WiFi networks. WPA2-Personal provides a secure and fast connection but some older WiFi devices do not detect WPA2 and support only WPA. If your WiFi network includes these older devices, select WPA-Personal + WPA2-Personal security.