Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Not seeing Orbi Outdoor in Router

SD1976
Aspirant

Not seeing Orbi Outdoor in Router

I am brand new to the ORBI router. I have a 750 with 1 satellite. I did not get sufficient signal to our detached garage to operate one camera and my garage door opener. Support recommended that I get an ORBI outdoor so I did. Actually, it connected right up and life is good from a connectivity perspective. The issue I have is that I do not see the outdoor device in the router at all. I know it has to be working but I do not see it when I go to attached devices or in the network map. I have tried asking support but not getting anywhere. Shouldn't I see this in attached devices or somewhere? I have the MAC address and it is definitely not listed. Makes me wonder if it is really working-I know it must be because my garage door is opening and I am getting my camera feed but quite confused by this. Oh and it is set up in ORBI mode - at least I believe it is.

Message 1 of 8
FURRYe38
Guru

Did you get the RBS50Y outdoor RBS? IF so, this won't work in Orbi mode with the Orbi AX system. The RBS50Y needs to have the Extender Mode FW applied, then it will work, however won't show as a satellite in the same location as indoor RBS. Will be just listed as a device. 

Message 2 of 8
SD1976
Aspirant

I have the RBS50Yv2. It appears to be working fine. Outdoor signal is great. Just can't see it in the router – like it doesn’t exist.

Message 3 of 8
CrimpOn
Guru

Since it cannot operate as a "satellite" on the 750 system, it will appear in the list of Attached Devices as a device.  Perhaps if you go through the entire list, there will be one device that you do not recognize?

Message 4 of 8
CrimpOn
Guru

Another tactic is to look at the product label on the bottom of the RBS50Y and record the WiFi MAC address.*

If that MAC address appears in the table of Attached Devices, you have found it.

* Depending on how the RBS50Y was mounted, this may be physically challenging.