× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
× Introducing the new Orbi 770 Series Mesh System. To learn more click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBS50Y stopped syncing with main router, pulsing white forever and how to manually update firmwa

hsof168
Aspirant

RBS50Y stopped syncing with main router, pulsing white forever and how to manually update firmware

I have been using the Orbi RBK50 system + RBS50Y for about 2 years, no problem so far.

But the last week the RBS50Y just stopped syncing with the main router RBR50. I tried to reboot, re-sync, reset factory setting all of them doesn't work.

The RBR50 and RBS50 are working fine, only the RBS50Y just stops working. I tried to reset the RBS50Y to the factory setting where led power shows from green > amber > blinking amber and it doesn't do anything. It is still pulsing white, and the solid white for about 10 seconds, then pulsing white again (without me pressing any button), then solid white again for about 10 seconds and repeat.

Now I want to update the RBS50Y firmware to 2.6.1.40 manually, but I don't know how to access the satellite because RBS50Y doesn't have wired LAN port. Also the default wifi SSID of the RBS50Y (which is on the the back of the satellite SSID is ORBI92) is not showing on my available wifi networks.

I assume updating to the latest firmware will solve the problem, but how to update if I cannot access the satellite directly via wifi and it doesn't have any wired LAN port? Any ideas?

Model: RBS50Y|High Performance AC3000 Outdoor WiFi Mesh Extender and Add-on Satellite
Message 1 of 6
alokeprasad
Mentor

Re: RBS50Y stopped syncing with main router, pulsing white forever and how to manually update firmwa

Turn off all other satellites. Try moving the RBS50Y closer to the base router (maybe even the same room) and see if it finds the router. Factory reset it again if necessary.