× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Can't connect WN300RP extender to router

Mayfly
Aspirant

Can't connect WN300RP extender to router

I've followed both options - WPS and wizard but still I can't get the Link Rate light on. All my devices see the extender OK.

At the end of the wizard it says....

'Internet no longer available move extender nearer to the router. Add the MAC code manually if your router supports this. Your mac code for the extender is xxxxxx'

I added the MAC Address but it made no difference. The router is in the same room and has been as close as 1ft away from the router.

Any help appreciated.

Please be gentle - I'm a novice user!!!
Message 1 of 11
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

If extender is connected to the main wireless router than try use googl DNS in device behind the extender

Google. Google DNS and there is now to instruction
Message 2 of 11
Mayfly
Aspirant

I don't it is - at least I don't get the Link light and can't see any indication in my DHCP list that is has.:(
Message 3 of 11
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

I'm not clear on what you said but you mean that main wireless router doesn't notcshowcexte extender is not connected ?
Message 4 of 11
Mayfly
Aspirant

Sorry - I can't get the Link Rate indicator to light up at all on the extender and the instructions say if the Link Rate LED is off there is no connection.

Also when I check the DHCP list on my router it does not show the extender MAC address - so I presume that is another indication it hasn't connected.
Message 5 of 11
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

I would remove all extender and start working one at at time , possible reset the unit and try setup again
Message 6 of 11
cilonie
Aspirant

Try to set-up the extender same room with the router and connect your computer wired to the extender as you do the set-up.