× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Issue with EX7700 staying connected

Bigjohn455
Aspirant

Issue with EX7700 staying connected

I am having an issue where my mesh network keeps kicking off one of the extenders.  I have my primary extender as an EX8000 which I have zero connectivity issues with. From there I have an EX7700 that is continually losing conectivity.

During the day i have to reset this device multiple times.  Sometimes it will work fine for about an hour, other times it is only about 5 minutes before i have to cycle to power on and off for it to work.

The device is setup with the most current firmware, and i have been using this setup for about 4 months before the issues started.  Any advice on this would be helpful.

Message 1 of 6
plemans
Guru

Re: Issue with EX7700 staying connected

Are both extenders setup with mesh? If so, turn off the "onename" function. the mesh extenders work great when you have 1 extender. But they're only designed to really work with 1 extender. I wish Netgear gave a warning a little more on the issue of multiple extenders. Problem with them using the single ssid function is if the routers wifi drops at all, they connect to each other (extender<----->extender) and then there's no internet access.

I always recommend to people that if they need more than 1 extender, they should move to a true mesh system like orbi/eero/etc. 

so to keep it stable, turn off the onename ssid function on one of the extenders and set it with its own unique ssid. 

the only time it works well with 2 is if the extenders are out of range of each other (can't see each others ssid). 

Message 2 of 6
Bigjohn455
Aspirant