× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Wireless Setup Issue - WPS in Progress

GBfromSEA
Aspirant

Wireless Setup Issue - WPS in Progress

I'm a consultant. I was trying to setup a WNR3500 (I believe that was the model - just purchased today at Bestbuy) and it wouldn't allow me to save any changes to the SSID field or WPA security settings. It gave me the cryptic message "WPS in Progress." I tried pushing the WPS to hopefully clear it and I tried powering off and on twice. The wireless worked okay but left them with an open network and stuck with an SSID of "NETGEAR." Please give me some steps to get the router to new wireless setting.
Message 1 of 7
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

Re: Wireless Setup Issue - WPS in Progress

WPS does not clear

WPS is easier to setup with WPS compatible Wireless adapter.

so WPS and regular encryption connection works in two ways. ONLY the SSID are obviously same.

make sure you are using PC with IE browser ...
Message 2 of 7
GBfromSEA
Aspirant

I was using IE. It allowed me to make other changes to it, like I was able to setup the password and pick the IP range. It just would not allow me to save any changes to the Wireless Setup without giving me the message actual text was "WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later." The WPS light was steady green. So do I have a defective unit or what?
Message 3 of 7
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

It just would not allow me to save any changes to the Wireless Setup without giving me the message actual text was "WPS process is in progress,

assuming this is wifi device side?

try avoid the setup and get out where you are at. Go to the netgear utility after you exit out and re-scan the network and try to connect.
Message 4 of 7
j16384
Novice

GBfromSEA wrote: