× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Configure route to be in the same LAN (N600 WNDR3700)

YZ2029
Aspirant

Configure route to be in the same LAN (N600 WNDR3700)

Hi,

I have a Gateway router A (ProSafe (FVS336G) and a wireless router B (WNDR3700). My network topology is:

(WAN IP: 10.xxx.xx.xxx) A (LAN IP: 192.168.1.xxx) <---> (WAN IP: 192.168.1.xxx) B (LAN IP: 10.0.0.xxx) <---> wireless device (IP: 10.0.0.xxx)

The firmware on router B is V1.0.7.98NA.

Current topology works. Every device has access to the internet. However, I need to stream data or remotely log in from device (whose IP address is 192.168.1.xxx) to device connected to router B. Now it's hard to achieve this (if possible) because wireless device is behind the router B. I am a newbie in these internet protocal stuff. I did some research online and think my option is to disable the DHCP service on B and make it an access point.

However, when I go to the LAN setting pages of router B, and try to write the LAN IP as 192.168.1.xxx or try to uncheck "Use router as DHCP server", it reports conflict with WAN subnet IP. I understand it's obvious that on router B, I am setting its LAN IP in the same subnet as its WAN IP, which it's rediculous. But why unchecking the DHCP and make it an access point also doesn't work?

I also saw people mentioned in other posts that the issue is using B as a DNS server. They disabled it and it works. But I don't know how to do this.

I am not sure how to achieve my goal now. That is, making the ip address of every wireless device as 192.168.1.xxx, remaining in the same subnet of devices connected to A.  I sincerely appreciate any suggestions!

Best,

Yan

Model: WNDR3700v1|N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
TheEther
Guru

Re: Configure route to be in the same LAN (N600 WNDR3700)