Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: CAX80 Multigig Port Behavior

All2surreal
Aspirant

CAX80 Multigig Port Behavior

Hi.  So this forum is full of the issue in the subject line.  After reading hours of comments and discussions I understand that this multi-gig port is essentially not stable, period.  I'm a Senior System Administrator and have been at my job for 20 years and have seen and done a lot in the tech field.  This issue ranks right up there with all the bizarre oddities I've come across.  There are just so many variables listed out by people here but essentially it boils down to a hardware design defect of the device.  What that precise defect is has not been disclosed by Netgear.

Here's my story.  I switched to Xfinity in July of 2022 and got their 1.2gig plan.  I bought this modem brand new off of Amazon for $450.  It ran rock-solid until September 2nd, 2023.  And here's what changed on that day but first some back story.  When I moved into my house back in 2018, I ran a 109 foot CAT6E UTP 23AWG network cable which I made at work, from my current modem at the time, to my gaming PC in the basement.  This network cable went outside and then back inside of my house too.   Now back in present day, so in an attempt to keep the cable run inside the house and no longer outside, I drilled a hole into my basement and ran a new cable down there to my office.  Now that I was only going inside for the run I only needed a 50ft cable.  Purchased here on Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007O0AUT0?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

So, as soon as I hooked up this cable I started getting drops and all of the same types of experiences everyone here describes.  So, I connected back my exisiting nearly six year old network cable and the drops have completely disappeared.