Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Should I be worried about my C7000v2 modem/router?

mtiede
Tutor

Should I be worried about my C7000v2 modem/router?

I wanted to have Spectrum update the modem/router.  (I think previously Time Warner did at least one update)

But now Spectrum (who acquired Time Warner) just says, "We don't update customer equipment".  And *I* can't update it.

So I bought a separate router (Synology RT6600ax) and I turned off the router portion of the C7000v2.  Things are working, but I have some concerns.  In particular (although I've been using this combination for several months now), I just got a "Threat Prevention" event detected Source IP 192.168.100.10 communicating to the Target IP 8.8.8.8 and saw signature "ET INFO DYNAMIC_DNS Query to a *.dyndns .org Domain ".

192.168.100.x is not my router's IP range.  I can't ping 192.168.100.x from inside my lan.  Where is this coming from?  Has some sort of DMZ been set up?  Is there something in the modem side of the C7000v2 that might be hacked?  How could the router even seen something from 192.168.100.x if none of the vlans are using that range?

I don't even know how to communicate to the modem now without doing a factory reset.

Should I replace this modem?  Any good suggestions for a new modem that would still let me continue to use the router?

Message 1 of 15

@mtiede wrote:

... I turned off the router portion of the C7000v2. 

How did you go about that?

Manuals are always a good place to start.

Visit the support pages:

Support | NETGEAR

Feed in your model number and check the documentation for your hardware.

Check the section in the manual Connect Your Modem Router to a Router After Installation and Activation

You may have done that already. I can't tell from your message.