× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

PBR Policy Based Routing using Managed Switch

APurk
Aspirant

PBR Policy Based Routing using Managed Switch

I am no expert with networks, but I am wondering if anyone has had any experience with PBR (Policy Based Routing) using Netgear Managed Switches.

More specifically I am wanting to define the onward hop based upon the source IP.

Looking through the manual, I can't find any insights on how to implement it using the web application.

So to give an example:

Message received on port 1 from source IP 192.168.254.1/24, with destination 172.168.0.1/24

I would like to define the next hop to be an interface with IP 192.168.1.1/24 (connected to port 2)

Another message received on port 1, source: 192.168.254.2/24, same destination IP.

I would like to define the next hop to be an interface with IP 192.168.2.1/24 (connected to port 3)

and so on.

Is this possible? Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Model: GSM7352Sv2|ProSafe 48 ports managed L3 gigabit stackable switch
Message 1 of 8
JohnRo
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: PBR Policy Based Routing using Managed Switch

Hello APurk, 

Welcome to the community! 

You'll probably need to do this using CLI. Please see the CLI manual for the switch (click here, page 257). If you need assistance with the configuration, please do not hesitate to contact our Support Team

Thanks, 

Message 2 of 8
Jedi_Exile
NETGEAR Expert

You should be able to do it.  PBR should be able to override the next hop for you.  There are few gottacha when it comes to PBR.   

So in this case, let say you have need to have 2 learned route for destination 172.168.0.0 /24 via 192.168.1.1 and another entry in route table for same network via 192.168.2.1

Now you can override based on source address (route-map) that if source is x then next hop is 192.168.1.1 or if source is y then next hop is 192.168.2.1