× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNas data loss as a result of dead drives (Ultra 4 Plus) - please help

kiwiaussie
Aspirant

ReadyNas data loss as a result of dead drives (Ultra 4 Plus) - please help

Hi all. Not sure there's much I can do here, but here's my situation.

I have a ReadyNas Ultra 4 Plus that I've been using since 2011 (and I moved all my data from a ReadyNas Duo when I upgraded). I used it mainly for storing video files and music (ripped all my CDs back in the day). However, the stuff that I'm most worried about is my photos that were all on the NAS and unfortunately not backed up anywhere else (I know this is bad - I just never got to it).

Over the years I've had a few HDDs die on me and every time I've bought a new one and swapped it in and the Raid array has rebuilt without a problem (X-RAID2).

Yesterday I swapped in a brand new drive and it started rebuilding as always. It got right to the end of the rebuild and then one of the other drives died and now the Raid status is: "Dead. This volume is no longer available."

Is this just bad luck and everything is gone? Or is there some way that I can recover the data? The photos would be a very small percentage of the total data.

Any help, or simple confirmation that I'm wasting my time would be greatly appreciated.

Model: ReadyNAS-Ultra 4|ReadyNAS-Ultra 4
Message 1 of 12
Sandshark
Sensei

Re: ReadyNas data loss as a result of dead drives (Ultra 4 Plus) - please help