× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS RN516 stuck on boot

rmnottingham
Aspirant

ReadyNAS RN516 stuck on boot

I am a novice when it comes to this, but hopefully someone can help.  My current NAS is an RN516 with four WD RED 3tb NAS drives.  I powered down the unit today to move it to another location, and after a quick de-dusting, powered it back up in its new home, but it was not able to boot.  I get the "NETGEAR Storage Welcome" message and the purple Netgear with the "OK" button, but it is unresponsive and these just keep flashing in a repeat loop.  The fan is also at maximum. 

The unit will not show in my ReadyCLOUD as being online and my monitor reports no input when I plug in an HDMI.  After doing some reading on the community I tried removing the drives and restarting, no change, and I tried removing the CMOD battery for 30 seconds, but that didn't help either.  Hoping someone has some ideas to help.

Model: RN51600|ReadyNAS 516 6-Bay Diskless
Message 1 of 18
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS RN516 stuck on boot

Did you also check the seating on the memory?

If you purchased new, you are covered by the hardware warranty (which is 5 years).  So you could contact my.netgear.com and get an RMA.

Message 2 of 18
rmnottingham
Aspirant

I just tried unseating the memory and put everything back together.  Now it doesn't appear to be getting any power as it won't power up.  Think it may be time for an RMA

Message 3 of 18
rmnottingham
Aspirant