Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk R8000Pturn on IPV6

LeadPipe
Aspirant

Nighthawk R8000Pturn on IPV6

Hi I have a P8000 and I’m trying to turn on IPv6 to run an Xbox series x. Is there a way to turn this on? The version I have is V1.4.4.94. My ISP is Hotwire communications. I have very little technical knowledge. 

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 50

Accepted Solutions
LeadPipe
Aspirant

Tech was here made a bunch of calls and determined IPV6 isn’t available yet. “It’s something we’re working on”. It’s 50/50 if it’s actually not turned on or they just wanted to get rid of me. But anyway thanks everyone for the help. 

View solution in original post

Message 46 of 50

All Replies
Kitsap
Master

@LeadPipe wrote:

Hi I have a P8000 and I’m trying to turn on IPv6 to run an Xbox series x. Is there a way to turn this on? The version I have is V1.4.4.94. My ISP is Hotwire communications. I have very little technical knowledge. 

Thanks in advance!

Couple of questions.  What is the brand name and model number of the modem/ONT connected upstream between your router and the internet?  Does your ISP support IPv6?

If yes, proceed.  Log in to the router user interface, go to the Advanced Tab -> Advanced Setup -> IPv6.  Under connection type, select either DHCP or Auto Detect.  Under IPv6 DNS, select get automatically from your ISP.  Under LAN setup, select use DHCP server.

Once you make the changes, you should reboot your router.

Message 2 of 50

@Kitsap is spot on with the general advice, but be warned that IPv6 comes in various flavours and not all Netgear routers support all of them.

For example, my R7800 does not support the IPv6 implementation that BT uses in the UK.

Fortunately, my current Netgear router has an "auto" setting that detects BT's implementation of IPv6.

Message 3 of 50
LeadPipe
Aspirant