× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Problems connecting GS728TP to GS110TP using SFP fibre ports

Bugner
Aspirant

Problems connecting GS728TP to GS110TP using SFP fibre ports

Hi,  I am new to networking and have set up a small home office in my garden connecting the house to the office with SFP Fibre betwween GS728TP (House) to a GS110TP (Office).  Data seems to be running over the fibre however when I connect all the devices in the house and office everything seems to go very slow and then I cant connect to anything.

I Shut everything down and then turned each device on individually, giving each device time to actually start up properly, and everything seems to be working ok.  Then when I moved my laptop from to house to office everything stopped working again.  The laptop is connected via Wifi and there is a BT Infinitiy Hub in the house which is also acting as the DHCP Server and there is another Wifi access point in the home office.

In the office there are 6 Cat5e cables from my GS110TP in a small comms cabinet to the following devices. 4 x wall ports, 1 x CCTV (POE), 1 x Wifi AP (POE).

In the house the BT Hub is connected to an existing Netgear hub which is then connected to the GS728TP.  This Smart switch has the following connections. Ehternet cable from existing hub into port 1, A Synology NAS plugged into port 2 and SFP Fibre in port 25 to the GS110TP in the office.

The CCTV records to the NAS. Connected to the house are several other devices like Sonos, Apple TV, Sky TV, Philips Hue lights, Smart TV etc.

Ideally I want to remove the existing Hub but that means running loads more cable and as we are having an extension next year this will be done then.