× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

OS6 Data Recovery - How to Mount BTRFS Volumes

Stanman130
Guide

OS6 Data Recovery - How to Mount BTRFS Volumes

I recently purchased a ReadyNAS 314 and 5 Seagate ST2000VN000 hard disks (one as a cold spare). I work as a system administrator, so I've been reading up on OS6 before I entrust this new system with my data. I'm not very comfortable using BTRFS since it seems to still be a little buggy and I don't need snapshots. But since that's the direction Netgear chose to go, I'd like to give it a fair chance.

The older generation of devices had several excellent web sites with detailed data recovery instructions for situations involving hardware failures. Usually, this involved removing the hard disks and connecting them to a desktop, then booting into a version of Linux and mounting the array using the familiar ext4/LVM tools. I've been searching through the forums and Googling for an updated version, but there don't seem to be any recovery instructions for the new generation. I've seen a lot of discussion about BTRFS including some comments that make me quite concerned.

As mangrove stated in thread 419088
"It should also be said that for EXT solutions, there are restore tools available which you run from a computer. So if the unit fails and you need to get data back, you can without having to buy an identical unit. This is much harder though.

This is impossible with OS6 units as BTRFS is not well supported by restore software."