× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Problem connecting a R6120 router as access point to a C7000 Router-Modem

47Chevy
Tutor

Problem connecting a R6120 router as access point to a C7000 Router-Modem

I am trying to set up an access point using a old R6120 Netgear WIFI router as the Access Point either net wired to my to my Night Hawk c7000 cable- modem/router.    I am a bit new to this stuff and I have looked at dozens of You Tube video but I cannot figure out how to get log in access the R6120 Admin to change the IP setting and the DHCP.  I have tried logging in to a web browser using the R6120s  current IP address but it doesn't recognize it.  I can't get the R6120 to connect to the internet. I suspect its because the C7000 is both the cable modem and WIFI router.    Anyone know how I can get access to the R6120 admin?

Message 1 of 6
plemans
Guru

Easiest way? 

1. factory reset the R6120

2. leave it disconnected from the C7000

3. run through your setup on the R6120 to configure it how you want. Leave switching it to access point mode to last.

4. once its all configured, click it over to access point mode. While its rebooting, connect it to the C7000. Connect the R6120's wan port to a lan port on the C7000

5. The R6120's IP address should be in the C7000's attached devices page if you want to access it to modify it further. 

Message 2 of 6
47Chevy
Tutor