× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Port based VLANs on GS108E

t84a
Aspirant

Port based VLANs on GS108E

Greetings folks.  I need some help here. I’m new to Netgear ProSafe as well as VLANs.  The port based VLANs attracted me to the GS108E and I’m hoping I bought the right device.

Currently, I have the Verizon input and Comcast input totally separate.  Comcast is for the private network and Verizon is for the public network. I can only remote into the Verizon modem/router on the public side and remote in to 2 PCs on the private side via JumpDesktop.   

I have another location owned by the same person but I was able to convince her to use Untangle, which accomplishes what I need with very little effort.  This will take a little more effort but the hardware/subscription cost is far less.  Before Untangle, the sites were set up identically.

ASUS RT-N66U set up as dual WAN

ASUS RT-N66U DHCP enabled

Netgear ProSafe GS108E

Ports 1-5 VLAN 1 Private Network

Port 6 VLAN 2 Camera Network

Port 7 VLAN 3 Guest Network

Port 8 VLAN 4 MHH Network

VLAN 1 is for business operations.  Backoffice PCs as well as POS terminals are on this network. I use JumpDesktop to connect remotely to Managers PC as well as Backoffice PC.  From there, I want to be able access all the devices on all VLANs. I will manage the switch from one of the 2 desktops. It is imperative that this network remain secure for PCI compliance.

VLAN2  is for a Q-See NVR system as well as a Foscam camera.  Right now, this is on the Verizon input side.  I have port forwarding set up in the Verizon router to make these things accessible on the remote apps and a PC.  This functionality needs to continue in the new environment.