× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Can't acces shares anymore in windows 7 after backup

boeman
Aspirant

Can't acces shares anymore in windows 7 after backup

Hi,

I have been using an RN 102 for more than two years now in my home network. I could access it with every windows 7 computer, I have made mapped network drives to the different shares. Since last night though the shares are not accessible anymore. Clicking on a mapped network drive gives the error: "X:\ is not accessible. The local security authority database contains an internal inconsistency"

I have also a android smartphone which can still see and access all shares and the same goes for an old xp computer I fired up this morning. And I can access the mapped share via the cmd prompt.

Just before I lost the access I did a backup. I just started doing these back ups last week. I connect a USB drive to the RN102, do a backup via either the backup button or via the frontview backup page. This is still work in progress and I do get error messages with these backups.

Now I am still able to connect to the RN 102 via frontview. But I cannot add a new user, I cannot change passwords of a user. Also, if I try to add a share that does not work.

What could be wrong here and what do I do to make my files accessible again.
Message 1 of 17
StephenB
Guru

Re: Can't acces shares anymore in windows 7 after backup

Do you happen to run HP ProtectTools on the Windows 7 machine?
Message 2 of 17
boeman
Aspirant

No. Actually I lost access from three windows 7 machines at the same time. So I think the problem is related to the NAS and not to a computer.
Message 3 of 17
boeman
Aspirant

Is it already a good idea to perform an OS reinstall?

-edit- I did and except for changing the password to standard to login in frontview nothing else changed.