× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Expanding an Ultra4 - Backup, Factory Default and Restore? Just fill up the slots

aim54x
Aspirant

Expanding an Ultra4 - Backup, Factory Default and Restore? Just fill up the slots

I have been running a ReadyNAS Ultra 4 (RNDU4000) for a few years now with XRaid and 2x2tb (WD Red) drives. I am now rapidly running out of storage and looking up expand my volume. I am considering wether it would be worth backing up, performing a factory default and then restoring to reset the unit with a base of 2x4tb drives to enable straight expansion to 16tb (4x4tb) in the future whilst I have a managable amount of data to backup. I am also unsure if about backup and restore procedures on these units as the ReadyNAS box is used primarily as a layer of backup for my files as well as a DLNA server.

1) if I use a large HDD to back up the ReadyNAS via USB can I use this backup to restore the ReadyNAS after a factory default?
2) should I save myself the hassle and just throw extra drives in and worry about it all later?

My understanding is that you can expand a maximum of 8TB on top of your initial size, I will not be able to expand to 4x4TB drives without a factory reset as I have started with a 2x2TB initial size. I am a bit confused about the 16TB limit, depending on the firmware version (I will have to check) you can perform a factory reset to go beyond 16TB? I am sure that by the time I need that much storage I will have invested in a 2nd NAS box though.