× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

GlusterFS on the ReadyNAS HOWTO

vk2tds
Aspirant

GlusterFS on the ReadyNAS HOWTO

The following document describes how to install Gluster on a Netgear ReadyNAS RN314. It mostly applies to the RN104 as well, but there might be some changes. In my casse, I have a RN314 as a master and a RN104 as a slave. Both have four 2TB HDDs, running in the Gluster equivalent of a JBOD array.

In order to do backups, I decided to RSYNC from the RN314 to the RN104 periodically. This suits my data storage requirements. Periodically means probably once a day. I have not yet managed to get Geo Replication working, so RSYNC is how I am doing things. I intend to improve my RSYNC script so that it WOL (Wakes On Lan) the RN104, copies any files, and then shuts it down.

This document assumes a few things:

The gluster instance is called homevol
    2TB HDDs
    Gluster is being run without redundancy

If these assumptions are not right, take even more care!

The first step is to install a HDD in the RN. Do this in accordance with the manuals. This is important since the operating system is actually installed onto the HDD.

Once this is complete, log into the RN and perform the following steps:

Under Overview|Device, Set the system time
    Under System|Settings, enable SSH
    Under System|Settings, configure Alerts
    Configure your Network. You may wish to set an MTU of 9000 for improved performance
    Change the Admin password

From now on, things are going to get strange! The next step is to SSH into the machine. The account you need to SSH into is actually root, and uses the Admin password:

ssh root@<IP-ADDRESS>

We need to install some software now

apt-get install joe			# My preferred editor
apt-get install parted # fdisk replacement
apt-get install gluster??? # Gluster itself

Create some mount points for the HDDs. These are my preferred locations

mkdir /mnt