× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Reading X-RAID2 files

wresele
Aspirant

Reading X-RAID2 files

Hi,

I just want to share my findings here, because it took me some time to figure it out myself, and I could only find some useful hints in a very old discussion here:

A week ago, my ReadyNAS Duo V2 died because of a faulty power line. The disks (two 3TB in RAID1) were still ok.

I deperately wanted to access my files (at least verify what was on the NAS as compared to my other backups...), and read some dicussions here. What I understood so far is that basically the X-RAID2 is a linux mdadm RAID volume, and the filessystem used within (for the data partition) is extfs4. Despite some tips, and some tries, I unfortunately was not able to mount this volume on a booted Linux/Knoppix 7 distribution using mdadm - probably because I am a newbie to Linux. Some of the tips using mdadm really sounded easy but did not work for me - probably the settings for this X-RAID2 are somehow special?

So, my last solution was also a very comfortable one: using the recovery software R-Studio (http://www.data-recovery-software.net) I could make a scan of the data partition (it automatically recognized the mdadm RAID configuration) and then could see & select all files & folders for recovery. All this can be done in DEMO mode, not paying anything. Only when you then decide to extract/recover files, you need to buy this software. Very neat piece of software, though the process takes some time (I was using the software on a Mac, but R-Studio is available for both Mac & Windows)...

Just my experience with a dead ReadyNAS Duo 🙂

Model: ReadyNAS RND2000v2|ReadyNAS Duo v2 Chassis only
Message 1 of 3
md2212
Aspirant

Re: Reading X-RAID2 files

Hi,

have the same situation, but with 6 disk, have a Mac... did you use a SATA to USB ( like the thermaltake ) to connect your drive to your mac ?