× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS NVX after Vol Expansion FSCK fails due bug 4.2.22?

redborough
Follower

ReadyNAS NVX after Vol Expansion FSCK fails due bug 4.2.22?

hardware:
Readynas NVX4000
OS RAIDiator 4.2.22
two SAMSUNG HD204UI [1863 GB] (checked with factory tools before insertion)
I have been using this system as good as flawlessly for around 2 years now.
+ two Seagate ST2000DM001-9YN164 [1863 GB] (checked with Seatools long check before insertion)

Around two weeks ago I expanded my Readynas NVX with these two brand new Seagate ST2000DM001-9YN164. After each disk was added sequentially the expansion was complete and i had a 5,5 something TB. So far so good.
All seemed to be goin well until this week. I moved around several directories on the NAS and ironically while making some backups to external disks over my Gigabit Network/PC I got a few seemingly innocent reading errors on my NAS. I decided to run an offline Volume scan. The volume scan ended with an error,
Volume scan failed to run properly
Error storing directory block information (inode=60652993, block=0, num=2324545): Memory allocation failed
e2fsck: aborted
The mail with the error gave the whole log, a diarrhea of Inode errors. Retrying the Volume scan gave the same result, it ran for a few hours until around 30% and then suddenly crashed, posting a similar mail.
Still not alarmed I scheduled a RAID scrubbing. The RAID scrubbing finished normally.
This time I tried a new Volume File Check after reboot. I was not so lucky this time. Although the Volume scan hung at 69% it really hung this time. I waited for half a day and saw no change.