× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Recovery of Deleted Files

basic_furball
Aspirant

Hi All,

I've done the unthinkable...

I've accidently deleted a small folder of photos of which I don't have a backup. I know it's not as bad as some unfortunate folk have done on here but I still feel like an idiot and would desperately like to get them back.

I was connected via afp to my readynas duo on raid-1 and deleted the wrong folder whilst moving some pics around.

Journaling is disabled so I gather from these forums that I may stand a chance?

As I understand it, I need to remove one of the drives and connect it to a linux running pc. Trouble is I am not very good at all with linux and would much rather do this in windows or mac. Could I just hook it up directly to my computer and load up a piece of software like this:

http://www.piriform.com/recuva

Would windows recognise the drive? I would really appreciate any advice, or maybe even some other suggestions on software that might work under windows or mac?

My other concern is that I have read, though possibly misunderstood, that upon re-insertion of my drive into the readynas duo that it might reformat my drives? Is this right, and would I need to backup the entire drive before putting it back in?

Sorry if I've completely got the wrong end of the stick here but I just wanted to double check before I go and make things worse!

I'd be really grateful for any help,

Thanks.
Message 1 of 6
basic_furball
Aspirant

Re: Recovery of Deleted Files

Could the Moderator of this thread please move this to the "General Questions" section, I may have little more luck there.

Thanks.
Message 2 of 6
WhoCares_
Mentor