× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Sharing subdirectories on ReadyNAS Pro 4

rpb
Aspirant
Aspirant

Sharing subdirectories on ReadyNAS Pro 4

Hi,

Apologies if this is a complete noob question, but we're stuck. :?

We have a current server with a whole bunch of directories for different tasks:

D:\HR
    D:\Marketing
    D:\Sales
    D:\Dev
    D:\External
    D:\etc

These folders are currently shared on our Windows network along these lines:

\\SERVER\HR
    \\SERVER\Marketing
    \\SERVER\Sales
    \\SERVER\Dev
    \\SERVER\External
    \\SERVER\etc

We bought a ReadyNAS and moved the contents of the server over. For ease of backing up we basically put the previous server D drive onto a new partition on the NAS. However, we can't work out how to share these subdirectories for our users. We only seem to be able to share the root folder, so we end up with something like:

\\READYNAS\D

We were hoping to rename the ReadyNAS and share the directories with their names so that all the existing links users have to their files will remain the same. At the moment the best we can do is have something like \\SERVER\HR become \\SERVER\D\HR. :shock:

Surely we don't have to create a partition for each shared folder on the ReadyNAS, do we? That is going to make management, backing them up and taking offsite backups a nightmare!

Are we doing something silly, or can the ReadyNAS really not share subfolders? And if it can't, would anyone be so kind as to help us with a workaround?

Thanks!
Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

Re: Sharing subdirectories on ReadyNAS Pro 4

Normally you start with an empty volume, and create the shares you want from Frontview (HR, Marketing, etc). These are shared, and you have control over the directory permissions, access protocols, etc. on a share by share basis.