× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Transfer from USB HDD to Readynas NV+.

Libitína
Aspirant

Transfer from USB HDD to Readynas NV+.

Greetings,

I'm a complete beginner to the NAS world and I hope to get some help on my issue.

I currently have two 1.5TB external USB harddrives from which I'd like to transfer the data to my Readynas NV+. I've successfully transferred data from a USB flashdrive using the automatic function in RAIDar via. the USB port on the front, but I can't figure how to do it from my harddrives. Is there a simple way to copy data from my external drives to my NAS without connecting the external drive to my PC and transfer via. LAN?
Message 1 of 16
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Transfer from USB HDD to Readynas NV+.

What filesystem (e.g. EXT3/NTFS/FAT32) is on the USB disks?

Is this a NV+ (v1) or a v2?
Message 2 of 16
ReadySECURE
Apprentice

With a ReadyNAS NV+ you should be able to attach it to the USB port on the NAS. When you plug in the USB drive, you should have a share that represents all of the data on that drive. These particulars can also be altered via Volume > USB options Is this drive bus powered or externally powered (e.g. power cord for the USB drive)?
Message 3 of 16
Libitína
Aspirant

@mdgm - it's NTFS on a NV+ v1.

@readysecure1985 - It's externally powered. I see the files fine via. the NAS on my computer however I never found a function to copy via. the USB port integrated within the system from the USB HDD to the NAS HDD.

I found a workaround though. I installed SSH, APT and installed MC and screen on the NAS. Then I accessed the NAS via. SSH, opened screen and MC and started copying files via. MC and then I could turn off my computer while the external copy data to the NAS. Speed is not good (4,43mb/s), but it's reliable to me.
Message 4 of 16
ReadySECURE
Apprentice