× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to setup LAG between 2 Netgear switches?

tonynsx
Luminary

How to setup LAG between 2 Netgear switches?

I'm trying to setup LAG between 2 Netgear switches, but its not working.  The switches I'm using are S3300-52X-PoE+ ProSAFE 48-Port Gigabit Stackable Smart Switch with PoE+ and 4 10G uplinks and XS728T ProSAFE 28-Port 10-Gigabit L2+ Smart Switch

On the 52 port switch, I'm using ports 51 and 52, and on the other switch I'm using ports 27 and 28, both LAG 1.  I do have VLANs, so I removed VLAN 3 from ports 51 and 52, and assigned to LAG 1 (lag on 52 port switch), and on the other switch, removed VLAN 3 from ports 27 & 28, and assigned it to LAG 1 (lag on the 28 port switch)

And when I connect the SFP+ cables, I'm loosing ping.  I can see the link lights on the SFP+ cables.  This is my first time setting up LAG, what am I doing wrong?  I'm trying to make a 20 Gb LAG between the 2 switches.

This is the KB that I'm following, but it looks old. 

https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/GSM7352SV2/how_to_configure_lag.pdf

Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: How to setup LAG between 2 Netgear switches?

Here again, the same setings must be used on both ends. And for the obvious (?) reasons, only one VLAN can be run untagged and with the same PVID configured.

View solution in original post

Message 14 of 15

All Replies
tonynsx
Luminary

Not sure if this matters, but on the LAGs, I'm using it as untagged (U), do I need to use trunk (T)?  So from the 52 port switch (U) to the 28 port switch (U), should I be using 52 port switch (T) to the 28 port switch (T)?

Message 2 of 15
tonynsx
Luminary

Message 3 of 15
schumaku
Guru

Have changed the two SFP+ ports from stacking- to Ethernet-mode?